Impressionism, love it or hate it?

Subject is La Havre harbour in France

Subject is La Havre harbour in France

The idea of impressionist art is much more appealing to me than the actual art itself. When I first saw Claude Monet’s Impression, Sunrise (circa 1872, Le Havre harbor in Spain) I was not that impressed. I understood the painting: that it was supposed to be a portrait of sunrise on a body of water with activity going on in the water. I thought that the colors were well represented as far as the sun and sunrise was concerned.

The bone I have to pick with Monet is that I saw no detail in his paintings. Although some would argue with me that the heart of Impressionist art lies in the details and tiny color blotches that are laid on the canvas, I beg to differ. Impressionist art was all about tricking the eye, not necessarily pleasing the eye in all facets. Sure, Monet’s paintings look beautiful and complex when you are looking at them far away, but get up close and all you see is brush strokes and what seems to be a confused mess of colors. For me, appreciation of art lies in the details. I enjoy being able to get up close to a painting and notice the subtleties that the artist has added. I can not do this with Monet’s paintings.

For these reasons I am much more partial to Post-Impressionist art. I have seen the original A Sunday Afternoon on La Grande Jatte by George Seraut (circa 1985).

I viewed this painting in The Art Institute of Chicago and it is of grand proportion.  The original is a huge painting (6 by 9 feet).  This allowed me to see the details of the painting.  It was not blurred brush strokes like form impressionist art, but carefully placed dots.  It helped me see the details, such as the people waiting for the boats to dock in the distance and the man and women kissing in the background.

8 Responses to “Impressionism, love it or hate it?”

  1. elanser Says:

    I got to say I like your choice of painting as it was also mine. I was thinking maybe we both have a great eye for art. While I was patting myself on the back I read your criticism of the piece.

    While I completely agree some of this stuff looks like they just spilled on the page (I am being dramatic), I try to focus on the effect of the painting. The problem you specified in Impression:Sunrise is the same I have with more modern are multilplied by a hundred.

    I can much more easily identify with the Seraut painting with its clear lines and very utilitarian scene, but it certainly doesn’t stretch my inner-artist. Good comparison though, it nicely identified the differences in the two styles.

  2. Mike Says:

    Claude Monet’s Sunrise is something that I recently became aware of. I am not an expert on painting, but I do know what I like. Paintings like Starry Night, Starry Night Over Rhone and this Sunrise are my favorites. Sunrise literally got on my list of favs just a couple days ago searching through Impressionism.

    The reason I like this kind of art is because they are very ‘dream state’ like. I can picture being there and want to be there. The paintings are also somewhat “eerie”.

    I have not appreciated painting until about 5 years ago. I am starting to get into some abstract art too. Maybe I will build into with an appreciation for the more complex paintings down the road. I think the reason I like these types of painting is because I do look at them from a distance and make a really nice backdrop to peer at and daydream with. I am not concerned about the close up details.

    Great… now I will have to buy one of these copies of Sunrise which is another $120 out of my wallet, lol. The one pictured is different than the one I found on the net color wise. The one I found is darker, more purplish looking. Probably the copy… but is the one I actually prefer.

  3. emilymbass Says:

    Your post helped me recognize more clearly the difference between Impressionism and Post Impressionism. I see what you mean about the well placed dots verses the smattering of strokes. I enjoy both styles but also chose Post Impressionism as my more favored for this post. You included all the required information in your post adn expressed your views very well. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Kodiak907 Says:

    Well this is the first time I read a critic about Monet’s work. I’m not really sold on your opinion of the matter but I do see your perspective concerning Impressionism Art. The feedback you give is honest and I respect that. The painting is fine but a little boring, however I am impressed on how the artist made the painting. Thanks for posting.

  5. Chelsea Wilkes Says:

    Coming from someone loving Impressionism, I enjoy your opposing thoughts. To me, the trickery of the eye is what I find appealing and that they seem so much more relaxed and not uptight. But you explained the differences between the two types of art and I applaud that you took the time to put pieces up from both eras. If you like the fine lines and details, what is your favorite type of era? I am sure it is not Post-Impression because even that type does not have as much detail as other eras.

  6. frances hodgson burnett biography Says:

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and
    it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist different users like its helped me.
    Great job.

  7. vakantiehuisje frankrijk Says:

    Asking questions are actually fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything totally, except this article presents good understanding yet.

  8. SundaySurfer Says:

    Okay, this will upset a lot of people, but I hate impressionism in art. There is no real skill required in slapping paint on canvas leaving something unrecognisable for the place it is meant to be. If a title was not included in an impressionistic painting how would you know what it was supposed to be or where it was? It may be about mood but frankly give me a Constable any day. That takes real skill and powers of observation.

Leave a comment